a puffball as big as your head!

Mushrooms are great.  You’ve already witnessed me confess my love for them if you’ve been reading this blog.  The problem is that most of the time when I go mushroom hunting, I’m never really 1000% positive that I can eat the presumable edibles, and generally can’t positively identify the vast majority of what I find.  Prize-less mushroom hunting is still fun, don’t get me wrong, but let’s face it, I wanna eat!

You can imagine my excitement then, while sitting passenger in Abby’s truck, to peer out her window toward a patch of lawn where I’d previously found edible mushrooms and gaze upon the largest puffball mushroom I’d ever seen in my life (while riding in a moving vehicle nonetheless!)  I yelled at Abby to pull off the road and nearly caused her a heart attack and/or car wreck, myself sprinting to the mushroom as if it might bolt like an animal in danger of being hunted.  Pictures of Puffy the Giant Puffball (and friends) can be found below.

Random (AMAZING) Fact: An average sized Giant Puffball (Calvatia gigantea) is estimated to contain 7 trillion spores. Yikes!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Mushrooms!, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a puffball as big as your head!

  1. Pingback: johnbyronkuhner.com / “Alien Brains For Dinner.”

  2. John Kuhner says:

    That is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen. Did it cook up well?

  3. I know… it’s insane that this thing is both real and edible. We cooked it up in strips in the pizza oven and it turned out good; somewhere between the consistency of tofu and fish, and basically just absorbs whatever flavors you cook it with. You can also sauté them, but I think they tasted better in the oven.

Leave a Reply

